The Lumineers – The Lumineers The Lumineers – The Lumineers

The Lumineers‘ self-titled album bursts through the seams of my shirt pocket and straight into my needy heart. Reminding me of a younger version of Mumford and Sons, the band’s sound is acoustic, wired with folk, and full of feeling. Wesley Schultz and Jeremiah Fraites old stomping grounds were in this here city (Ed. Note: New York) through most of their growing years, which becomes clear when pieces of the city come out in their songs. When they became fed up with the grind of the NYC music scene, they gathered up their roots and replanted themselves in Denver, Colorado where they found their new band member Neyla Pekare after reaching out on Craigslist for a cellist. And so the album creation began, and so it is released reaching some nice heights on Billboard 100 and landing them an article in Rolling Stone.

The title “Flowers in Your Hair” already succeeded in inciting intrigue, making me want to know more about these flowers in her hair. Right from the start, Wesley Schultz’s passionate and almost heart-breaking vocals are easy to listen to and hard to forget. “Flowers in Your Hair” slowly grows until it bursts with life and then slams to a halt leaving us in hazy wonder. “Classy Girls” and “Big Parade” seem like they came out of a scene in the movie Once where the lead character gathers with a huge group of friends for eats, drinking, and shared music making; a ritual in which any music-craving soul would love to take part. The next, most popular, and instantly addictive of songs on the album is “Hey Ho.” It begins with an echoing chant and a rhythmic strumming guitar that guides the ear into Wesley’s invigorating vocals igniting the song with, “I dunno where I went wrong, I dunno know where I belong, but I can write a song.” This song plants a permanent home in my playlist when the hand clapping and heartfelt chorus sings, “I belong with you, you belong with me. You’re my sweetheart.”

Coming down from such great heights, “Slow It Down” stirs up necessary soul searching. I can picture a person with a Johnny Walker neatly in hand sitting in a dimmed, dank bar reeking of its age listening to this song and getting lost in time and into Wesley’s words. This song creates a smooth transition into my personal favorite on the album, “Stubborn Love.” In it, Jeremiah’s racing drums keep my heart pumping as Neyla’s cello squeezes every last emotion out of Wesley’s porous heart until he breaks out into a cry, “Keep your head up, keep your love!”

The album proceeds with each song calm and collected with stories needing to be told. In “Charlie Boy”, Wesley sings out into land and into our broken hearts with “Make your mothers proud, raise your rifles to the sky, boys.” And raising lighters into the air we join his command. With this, the Lumineers are selling out shows in the United States and around the world. They are giving every last bit of themselves in their lyrics and their acoustic soul awakening folk rock sound. It’s clear they have found their footing and are taking off on a run right up out of the Meadowlark’s underground club and straight into our hearts.

The Lumineers Tracklist:
1. Flowers In Your Hair
2. Classy Girls
3. Submarines
4. Dead Sea
5. Ho Hey
6. Slow It Down
7. Stubborn Love
8. Big Parade
9. Charlie Boy
10. Flapper Girl
11. Morning Song

The Lumineers - The Lumineers, reviewed by Alana Paige on 2012-10-04T09:40:05-07:00 rating 3.7 out of 5

Comments are closed.