Superchunk – Majesty Shredding Superchunk – Majesty Shredding

Superchunk - Majesty Shredding

The best thing about Superchunk is that, as we seem to grow older every goddamn day, their songs still sound the same.

They’re like fucking AC/DC.

Sure there’ll be derivations. They’ll have backup singers and keys. They’ll play a little slower than they did in the 90’s but mid-tempo tracks never killed anyone and when they do go for that slack motherfucking glory again it’s all the more effective.

“My Gap Feels Weird” teases all the kids and their eyelining solos by showing that a couple of forty-something record executives can still kick their favorite bands’ ass any day of the week. “Rope Light” is just fucking great. “Learn to Surf” and “Crossed Wires” appeared before but they sound so much better now that they’re faster and louder and there’s so much more guitar.

So, yeah…

Superchunk are as sun-shiny as they ever were. Perhaps, more so. Learned in the nine years since their last full length so that Majesty Shredding plays more like a greatest hits than a return to form or a great leap forward.

Because who the fuck needs to hear Superchunk get experimental? Who wants On the Mouth again?

Actually, they just re-released that record along with No Pocky for Kitty. Remastered them both for maximum volume so you can finally throw away your warped tapes which is really the only problem with this record.

Pitted against the band’s two seminal records it pales a little bit but fuck it. On Majesty Shredding Superchunk play Superchunk and Superchunk are fucking amazing.

1. Digging For Something
2. My Gap Feels Weird
3. Rosemarie
4. Crossed Wires
5. Slow Drip
6. Fractures In Plaster
7. Learned To Surf
8. Winter Games
9. Rope Light
10. Hot Tubes
11. Everything At Once

Superchunk - Majesty Shredding, reviewed by Charles on 2010-12-06T10:33:49-08:00 rating 4.2 out of 5

Comments are closed.