Pissed Jeans – King of Jeans Pissed Jeans – King of Jeans

Pissed Jeans - King of Jeans

Pissed Jeans - King of Jeans

I probably don’t look hard enough, but I get the sense that the Indie Rock Conglomerate LLC has been skimping on the heavy shit lately. So the release of something like King of Jeans on a label like Sup Pop (didn’t those cats used to only release heavy shit?) will get me pretty excited these days. And Pissed Jeans just happens to be the kind of heaviness I like best. I don’t even care if half their ideas are lifted from the Jesus Lizard, cuz opener “False Jesii Part 2” utterly DESTROYS; all throb and pound and a chorus that lays waste to most everything. The wordless, panicked grunting of “AYYYY YAA YAAA YAA YAA YAA YAA” is just the kind of nonsensical neanderthal garbleage I needed to help me forget that the entire freak-folk canon ever existed.

And for this, I will send Pissed Jeans a very nice thank you card.

So yeah, their singer does the David Yow really well, sounding like he’s shouting out the words in between getting his head dunked in water in songs like “Half Idiot” and “Pleasure Race,” but the guy seems to have a little more to say, or maybe he just articulates a little better instead of vomiting for thirty minutes (not necessarily a worse alternative). Dude’s all about how much it totally blows to be a twentysomething working some nondescript job and going to the same nondescript parties over and over again. I guess it’s just enough to make you wanna pummel out some seriously sinister jungle rhythms, rev up the chainsaw power chords, and make one of the few truly dangerous indie records in some time. It’s a pretty comforting reminder that habitual middle-class boredom is capable of fueling music other than bratty two-step hardcore. Basically, what I’m trying to say is, when you get tired of listening to remix mashups or some dude’s twee-coustic experimentalism that probably involves him coloring his face with crayons, the new Pissed Jeans album is here to remind you that indie rock didn’t always used to suck.

Track Listing:
1. False Jesii Part 2
2. Half Idiot
3. Dream Smotherer
4. Pleasure Race
5. She Is Science Fiction
6. Request For Masseuese
7. Human Upskirt
8. Lip Ring
9. Spent
10. R-Rated Movie
11. Dominate Yourself
12. Goodbye (Hair)

Pissed Jeans - King of Jeans, reviewed by Squeri on 2009-10-02T10:33:18-07:00 rating 4.0 out of 5

One Response about “Pissed Jeans – King of Jeans”