Mike Slott – Lucky 9Teen Mike Slott – Lucky 9Teen

Mike Slott - Lucky 9Teen

Mike Slott - Lucky 9Teen

Hot off the press from Scottish based co-op imprint Lucky Me comes one of the most exciting future Hip-Hop and electronic dance music releases of the year! Mike Slott’s debut album Lucky 9Teen is one of the most anticipated 12″s to come out in 2009, being heralded by forward thinking producers and DJ’s like California’s Flying Lotus and British beat royalty Mary Anne Hobbs and Jamie Vexd.

Taking influence from futuristic freeform jazz and 80s boogie records then applying that to Hip-Hop with a 70s sci-fi movie soundtrack vibe, Mike Slott’s sound is difficult to place. One thing that’s for sure is the music wouldn’t feel out of place drifting through the cosmos.

The most striking aspect of Lucky 9Teen is Mike Slott’s keen ear for synthesis. His sounds are beautiful. Twinkles and sparkles in sci-fi spacescapes and emotionally charged songwriting blend together to create some of the most awesome gravity-free beats I’ve ever heard. From the ultra-mellow gleaming ambience of The Now to the melodic head bopping anthem Gardening there’s a little bit of everything.

Mike Slott is one of the most promising beat producers making music right now and he’s definitely one to watch out for in 2010.

Track Listing:
A1. The Now
A2. Amanallah
A3. Six AM
A4. Gardening
B1. 40 Winx
B2. Sun Tan
B3. Snow Birds

(Digital Download Extra Track) Snow Birds Expansion

Mike Slott - Lucky 9Teen, reviewed by Heard on 2009-12-07T11:42:58-08:00 rating 4.0 out of 5

Comments are closed.