Miike Snow – Miike Snow Miike Snow – Miike Snow

Miike Snow - Miike Snow

Miike Snow - Miike Snow

Pop’s back, apparently. With summer nearly in full swing, pop fanatics and those who love a catchy melody are in for a treat. La Roux, Little Boots, Empire Of The Sun and Passion Pit have up until now been seen as the main flag carriers for this wave of bubblegum electronics and neat little basslines. Miike Snow, however, don’t seem to have been invited to the hipster BBQ. L

Label mates with the trendiest of the trendy, (Gnarles Barkley, Justice, MSTRKRFT, Cold War Kids to name but a few) Miike Snow is a trio comprised of Andrew Wyatt, a producer for Downtown records, and Christian Karlsson and Pontus Winnberg , involved in production team Bloodshy & Avant. The duo have worked with star spangled artists such as Britney, Madonna and Kylie. What to expect from the trio’s first full length then? High octane, hook laden synths, or naff, of the moment throwaway pop? The truth is, the group’s first LP falls somewhere in-between.

Miike Snow kick off with “Animal”, which is genuinely one of the best pop songs I’ve heard all year. It’s like Passion Pit with big steel drums dropped on their heads. In the non violent, let’s make sweet music kind of way. Honestly it’s great, and definitely one for your “Sunny day” playlist. For a trio that have in the past been involved with pop A list, the album takes a surprisingly reserved tone from there on in. Tunes like “Burial” and “Silvia” are still pretty good, but sortve puts the album on a slight downer from early on in. Still, these songs are still charming, and there’s nothing that you could really find offensive about any of them. Whilst nothing else really captures the carefree lazy sound of the albums opening track, “A Horse Is Not A Home” shows a bit of substance beneath this albums otherwise shimmering glaze.

It’s safe to say that Miike Snow aren’t going to take a new place in your record collection beside any of your firm favourites, but their self titled should be appreciated for what it is; catchy piano pop which will see you well through the summer and beyond. And what’s wrong with that?

1. “Animal” – 4:23
2. “Burial” – 4:21
3. “Silvia” – 6:26
4. “Song For No One” – 4:09
5. “Black & Blue” – 3:40
6. “Sans Soleil” – 4:27
7. “A Horse Is Not A Home” – 4:13
8. “Cult Logic” – 3:56
9. “Plastic Jungle” – 3:54
10. “In Search Of” – 5:16
11. “Faker” – 2:34

Miike Snow - Miike Snow, reviewed by Lemon on 2009-06-14T20:30:58-07:00 rating 3.3 out of 5

Comments are closed.