MGMT – Congratulations MGMT – Congratulations



Let’s be real with ourselves, even though we were told by trendsetters that we had just witnessed the genesis of new music, the first MGMT album Oracular Spectacular, was mediocre at best. It was carried by the three tracks that we’ve heard mixed, re-mixed, soundtracked, and overplayed like every “it” song. Oracular Spectacular was like any one of the Rocky movies,2-4 and 6; pretty forgettable plot saved by three hit singles and the sweet 80’s montage, respectively. I would, however, give something of moderate value to see Justice remix Rocky IV. It’d be pretty damn impressive for ANYONE to find a way to improve upon the final fight scene with the Russian. But hey, if they could turn “Electric Feel” into a hotter track, I’d be more than interested to see what they could do with a Rocky fight montage.

So let’s fast forward a couple years, and paint the last album with a happy-fuzzy brush based on the strength of those three songs. I’ll even indulge the false hopes of a second album that fulfills those fantasies.

Well maybe it’s that I’m a cynic, or maybe it’s that I’m on a prop plane from Detroit to the middle of nowhere; but Congratulations is just a continuation of Oracular Spectacular, sans hit singles.

This bad Morrissey impression somehow meanders into a scenester version of Simon & Garfunkle. Track 7 is about the time you start to think about listening to something else. However, the real issue with Congratulations is that it feels like an album with no soul behind it, or within it. No emotion. No drama.  No consequence. It’s disappointing, the most telling thing is you can listen to Congratulations from start to finish and not make a single personal connection, or feel a single sensation outside ambivalence. Pretty much the opposite of why people listen to music.

Track Listing:

1. It’s Working
2. Song for Dan Treacy
3. Someone’s Missing
4. Flash Delirium
5. I Found a Whistle
6. Siberian Breaks
7. Brian Eno
8. Lady Dada’s Nightmare
9. Congratulations

MGMT - Congratulations, reviewed by Delicious on 2010-04-22T13:25:01-07:00 rating 1.7 out of 5

One Response about “MGMT – Congratulations”

  • Charles says:

    SNAP! Rowe, you’re my hero. I fucking hate this band and I fucking hate this band’s fans and so do most (if not all) of the people I hold dear. Remember when that first fucking song came out and you thought “well, fuck it, I love fun” and then you listened to the whole record and it just made you start breaking all your frailest, most vital bones for being so stunningly inconsequential? And why the fuck do they dress like hippies? The FUCK! Suffice it to say, I find you 1.7 generous and that fight scene with the Russian is pretty fucking sick.