Kid Cudi – Man On The Moon 2: The Legend of Mr. Rager Kid Cudi – Man On The Moon 2: The Legend of Mr. Rager

Kid Cudi - Man On The Moon 2: The Legend of Mr. Rager

Six people stand around a table in a high rise apartment in Chicago’s Gold Coast. A musician/producer, an actor, an insurance salesman, a photographer, a student and an amateur music critic; all discussing numerous contemporary social topics, all connected with varying degrees of familiarity, arriving at a topic where everyone seems to have an opinion – music. And where in the musical spectrum does this semi-random selection of white people happen to land? Hip hop, obviously. But more specifically, conversation settles on Kid Cudi and his new album, Man On The Moon 2: The Legend of Mr. Rager.

In that conversation it was clear that everyone in the room was a fan of the album, I mean, that was no shock to me, it has been one of those “listen to it every day” albums for me since the day I got it. What struck me as most interesting, as I casually pretended to pay less attention than I actually was, was how each person seemed to be drawn to a different aspect of the album and Cudi’s style. Kid Cudi has real instruments on his album, his songs are introspective and revealing, he cares about album flow, and he writes songs for the dance club, the rock club and the cannabis club. His music is balanced. And not in hip hop’s traditional balance of Guns, Bitches and Weed. It’s refreshing, and it’s hard to not to think that this is something like hip hop v4.0.

There are a few misses on Man On The Moon, the track with Mary J. Blige is balls, the interludes are like a mix between un-funniness and “really? We’re still doing this?”, and there is an overall dark feel to the album, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, dark just isn’t for everyone. But fuck it; I’ll trade a couple lulls and a Mary J. misstep to not ever have to listen to Drake’s terrible flat singing again

This is a good album. It’s something you can listen to start to finish and feels like complete album when you listen to it, and at times it’s like “whoa, this is really good.”

And oh by the way, apparently we keep the weed in v4.0.

Track List:
1. Scott Mescudi Vs. The World
2. Revofev
3. Don’t Play This Song
4. We Aite (Wake Your Mind Up)
5. Marijuana
6. Mojo So Dope
7. Ashin’ Kusher
8. Erase Me
9. Wild’n Cuz I’m Young
10. The Mood
11. Maniac
12. Mr. Rager
13. These Worries
14. The End
15. All Along
16. Ghost!
17. Trapped In My Mind

Kid Cudi – Man On The Moon 2: The Legend of Mr. Rager, reviewed by Delicious on 2010-11-23T07:00:30-08:00 rating 3.9 out of 5

Comments are closed.