Dax Riggs – Say Goodnight to The World Dax Riggs – Say Goodnight to The World

Dax Riggs - Say Goodnight to The World

Dax Riggs - Say Goodnight to The World

Dax Riggs – No One Will Be A Stranger

If you don’t know who Dax Riggs is, then your life has been a complete disappointment until today. I have to apologize but your entire existence has been less of its full potential. A long time ago, Dax Riggs was the enigmatic front man for the gothic-sludge-blackened-death metal outfit Acid Bath. Acid Bath was a part of a sludge renaissance which enveloped the southern United States in the early 90’s. Acid Bath existed for two albums before disbanding after the death of bass player Audie Pitre. Following the death of Pitre, Riggs and guitarist Mike Sanchez formed Agents of Oblivion. After Agents, Dax Riggs went onto create Deadboy and the Elephantmen before resting comfortably in a solo career. This year welcomes the release of Rigg’s second solo album; a record which easily fits into the decrepit backwoods cemetery which makes up Rigg’s front yard.

A cursory knowledge of Rigg’s early work is imperative to the understanding of  his new album Say Goodnight to the World. Acid Bath birthed the swampy vocal style which rests between Chuck Schuldiner and early Chris Cornell.  In fact, the vocals for Acid Bath are so indicative of the times, it is almost impossible not to become nostalgic of 1994. The next project, Agents of Oblivion married Acid Bath’s stoner gothic rock with traditional blues. Dead Boy and the Elephantmen took the style even further burying the sound deep within swampy marshlands. Rigg’s solo work is built upon a foundation which defined his early styles. Say Goodnight to The World is the end result of 15 years of shaping and reforming.

Dax Riggs – Let Me Be Your Cigarette
This back-story helps listeners understand Rigg’s records when confronted with what sounds like a grunge singer-songwriter under the influence of hash and witchcraft. This knowledge also helps understand the outlandish song titles and lyrics. Once you understand, then you can begin to enjoy. “Say Goodnight” is hinged on the mortal thoughts of an aging gothic musician who is only 36 years old. The intensity which dominated Rigg’s early work is softer and more reflective. Riggs is a musician who has lived a thousand lives and sounds weathered and immortal.

Dax Riggs has always been special and his second solo work is nothing short than another solid entry into his resume. The haunting death tones only make the blues style more appealing. Rigg’s style pays tribute to the harrowing and raw beginnings of blues when it was still immensely interesting. The violence, sexuality and dark underpinnings which built blues are presented in full color. Dax Riggs is 36 as much as he is still 16; a musician who never stopped writing dark bedroom poetry but merely got better at the craft.

Dax Riggs-Say Goodnight To The World tracklist:

1. Say Goodnight To The World
2. I Hear Satan
3. You Were Born To Be My Gallows
4. Gravedirt On My Blue Suede Shoes
5. Like Moonlight
6. No One Will Be A Stranger
7. Heartbreak Hotel
8. Sleeping With The Witch
9. Let Me Be Your Cigarette
10. See You All In Hell Or New Orleans

Dax Riggs - Say Goodnight to The World, reviewed by Kaptain Carbon on 2010-09-22T12:18:05-07:00 rating 3.7 out of 5

Comments are closed.