Das Racist – Shut Up, Dude Das Racist – Shut Up, Dude

Das Racist - Shut Up, Dude

Das Racist - Shut Up, Dude

Das Racist, the Brooklyn based duo behind the internet sensation “Combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell,” produced a surprisingly good record with Shut Up Dude, Mixtape. Anyone familiar with this track or the YouTube video knows how ridiculous, yet entertaining the song is. The album retains the fun and hilarious aspect of hip-hop, but extends it into the type of album this genre has lacked for so long: intelligent, talented and fun as hell.

Das Racist is clearly having fun with this music. Unafraid to use Taliban and Al Qaeda just for the sake of rhyme… Rapping about subjects like Anthony Bourdain, Gruyere cheese, Ralph Waldo Emerson, other rappers having a “fake patois,” Henry David Thoreau, dodecahedrons and the Tet Offensive… physically laughing at their own lyrics.

And, not to forget the best line of the album, “W.E.B. Dubois… We be da boyz.” It’s refreshing to hear a music act of any caliber enjoy the hell out of what they’re doing.

Some of the most hilarious lyrics I’ve ever heard come from the brilliant “Shorty Said.” Easily the most comical song on the album, with lyrics like “Shorty said I look like a chubby Jake Gylenhaal, I said this is Brokeback, and I’m a broke mack, I’m so hard, I’m typing on a broke Mac,” and the brilliant line “Shorty said I look like Osama, plus Obama, minus the drama, shorty wanna meet my momma.”

“Nutmeg,” probably the most serious song, shows some amazing talent. It’s a reworking of Ghostface Killah’s track of the same name. The flow, use of samples, lyrics and timing are absolutely perfect. Even though it is less obviously hilarious, the lyrics still have the ridiculous oddity that makes Das Racist the group they are. Although this is their first album, “Nutmeg” sounds like the kind of song The Beastie Boys have strived their whole career to produce.

Ironically, the song Das Racist is known for, “Combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell” is absolutely the worst track on this record. Its repetitive nature is not up to par with what this duo can do. This song brought them into the spotlight, but hopefully the rest of the album can build some real hype.

Shut Up Dude, Mixtape is not just a fun, talented, easy to listen to record; it’s a reminder of what’s wrong with most of mainstream hip-hop. With its idolization of artists, unintelligent, over-serious lyrics and too polished production, mainstream records don’t hold up. Case in point: Das Racist appear to not have a serious bone in their collective bodies, yet they’ve recorded a seriously good album.

Das Racist – Shut Up, Dude Tracklist:
01 Who’s That_ Brooown!
02 You Oughta Know
03 Combination Pizza Hut And Taco Bell
04 Rainbow In The Dark
05 Fake Patois
06 Nutmeg
07 Shorty Said (Gordon Voidwell Remix)
08 Chicken And Meat
09 I Don’t Owe Nobody Shit
10 Ek Shaneesh
11 Hugo Chavez
12 I Don’t Want To Deal With Those Monsters
13 Don Dada
14 One Dollar Can
15 Coochie Dip City
16 Deep Ass Shit (You’ll Get It When You’re High)
17 Shut Up, Dude

Das Racist - Shut Up, Dude, reviewed by Daniel G on 2010-07-16T11:53:51-07:00 rating 4.1 out of 5

2 Responses about “Das Racist – Shut Up, Dude”

  • jerkstain says:

    I am going to have to let the Bad Brain’s fake patois slide. Not only are they awesome, but at least they were really rasta.

  • jerkstain says:

    Brains’ – excuse my improper grammar.